Internships/ Jobs/ Future Life Goals

Just to start, here is my current twitter status. I feel it sums this post up pretty well:

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 23.23.07

So for the past couple of months I’ve been trying really hard to try and find internships or student jobs for after I finish uni, and I’ve kind of only just found out how hard this is going to actually be. Like, I’ve been working since I was 14, so I was kind of like, I’ll be able to get a job. I’ve never not had a job, so surely this will be easy…. turns out I was completely wrong!

I feel like one of the main issues is that I’ve always been told that any kind of job builds up experience, so I’ve been happily/unhappily working in a shop, or waitressing or cleaning, thinking that it will look good on my CV, whereas in reality when looking at copy/content writing, this blog (as in technically my diary) is actually a better measure of my writing ability. Well thats what it seems like that anyway… and to me when first starting my job search, it seemed crazy, because in some regards surely my degree could show that I can write, and my previous work experience can vouch that I’m hard-working and that I pick up new skills quickly. Anyway, that’s how I was thinking when I started my job searching, but now I really do understand why you need experience in a field. I mean, when actually thinking about the job roles which I fulfilled before, being able to slice bread or clean a room really well doesn’t mean that I’m going to be able to write an amazing slogan for a product, or write a blog post, and with my degree, English is such an all encompassing degree that there’s no way that I’ve covered even half of what ‘writing’ is. So, I’m not annoyed, I’m just scared, and kind of weirdly surprised that I’m in that large pool of people who need experience, but can’t get somebody to give me a chance to get the experience.

So right now, I’m now in a situation where I’m trying to get work experience, and suddenly it all seems really last minute and unprepared. I mean, I’ve had all my life (or at least 6 years) to try and get some, and the fact that I’ve now got only 4 months until I finish uni suddenly makes me feel as if I just don’t have time to do everything to make me stand out against all the other candidates for the jobs.  I mean, I’ve maxed out my C.V. and contacted some local advertising agencies asking for work experience, but now it’s just a waiting game, I just hope that I haven’t left it too long to be able to actually find someone to take me on…

Again, that’s all I really have to say. Hopefully I’ll get a reply from one of my emails and somebody will want me to do some work experience with them…

Fingers crossed,

Sarah xx

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

