Diet

So… tomorrow I’m going to start dieting again, and I actually think I’m going to start documenting this regularly, because then I’ll actually be able to look back at this and see how far I’ve come.

So basically, I’m 21, and I’ve always been ‘the fat one.’ It doesn’t tend to bother me that much, I mean, I know I’m overweight, and that I’ve got a major problem with food and will-power. I’ve tried all the diets, and initially I lose a lot of weight and then just lose interest. The best diet I’ve actually been on was when I first started uni. I went on the VLCD (very low calorie diet) and went down like 3 dress sizes, but then over the next two years I just saw myself balloon and balloon, right past where I was when I first started it. Basically, as soon as I got off it I just went straight back to eating way too much pizza and pasta.

This time I’m going on the same diet, because honestly it really worked, and I felt better about myself than I had in ages. It made me feel ‘healthier’ and like I was ‘glowing,’ even though I was only eating 600 calories a day. Don’t worry, it may be only 600 calories a day, but the doctors have said it’s okay, as I record how I feel daily and stop if it becomes to much. Basically, the one I have chosen has 100% RDA for all the minerals etc you need, so it’s kind of just cutting out the calories, which at 19 stone 5 (273 pounds; 123 kg) is exactly what I need to do to lose the weight.

But anyway, I’m really looking forward to it. I know from my past experience that I generally find it easier and less hassle than day to day cooking etc, and they’ve introduced new foods, so I can’t wait for the package to arrive.

Altogether I have spent £130 on 50 days of food, and £5 on a new shaker bottle, as I somehow managed to lose my old one. Although it sounds a lot, that’s actually only about £19 a week, which I see as worth it. If you take into account that I order probably £30 of pizza a week, and then add at least another £15 of food on-top I’m actually looking at making a saving of about £25 a week. I know my parents will be annoyed that I’m going back on this diet, as they worry continuously about everything that I do, but I really need to do something about this. I want to be healthy again, but I just don’t have the will power at the weight I am right now to actually stop myself getting bigger and bigger. I need that initial noticeable weight change for me to feel as if there is any point, and I know from past evidence that that is exactly what I will gain from this diet.

But anyway, this was just the first of a series of posts which I will probably write about this experience, and I can’t wait for the delivery to arrive tomorrow!

Sarah.

Leave a Reply

